Deliver proposals (estimates) and change orders to clients through a customer web portal that allows the clients to view, sign and accept your proposals online!
You can also see which proposals have been read and when, and will be notified when your proposal has been accepted.
Note: When you're testing this, it's best to create a test project to a fake client because once a proposal is accepted by a client, it can't be deleted.
First, create and complete your estimate as you normally would by adding line items and groups containing all of the products and services you're proposing.
Include Optional Groups in your estimates by clicking the edit button next to the Group Name, clicking Edit Group, and un-checking Include In Estimate Total for the group that you want to be optional. Read more about Line Item Groups here.
When you're satisfied with your estimate, you have two options:
1) Click Complete Estimate and an Estimate Proposal will automatically be created using today as the availability date and 30 days from now as the expiration date. Using the Proposal Action button you can view the proposal, email it and several other options discussed below.
2) Click Proposal + to create your proposal manually.
Set the Available date (when you want the proposal to appear on the customer portal) and the Expires date (when you want the proposal to expire so that it can no longer be accepted).
Estimate- Includes all sections of your estimate and should be used for your initial proposal to your customer. If you're presenting multiple options, such as a "Good, Better, Best" presentation, the Estimate Total may not show the correct total until your customer Accepts or Rejects all of the options.
Note: If your customer has already accepted an Estimate Proposal do not create another Estimate proposal because it will Cancel the existing Accepted proposal.
Change Order- When additional work is required and you want to present just the additional work to your customer for acceptance.
Change orders are based on a single Line Item Group. The first step is to create one Line Item Group that contains all line items that make up the change order. If there are multiple groups, you'll need to create a change order for each line item group.
Next select Proposals + and click on the Change Order button. Then, select the group you want on your change order from the drop down list of group names.
After selecting your group and clicking save, use the Proposals Action button (described below) to email the change order to your customer for acceptance.
Click Save to create your Proposal or Change Order.
Important: Your proposal and change orders become a permanent record of the project or line item group at the time they are created so you can use them for future reference even after other changes have been made to the project.
Once your Proposal or Change Order has been created, you have several options which can be accessed with the Proposal Actions button for each proposal.
Once you Email a Proposal to your client, they'll be able to click on a link to view it. Below is what your customer will see when they view the customer portal.
Any Pending or new documents appear at the top of the page. Previously accepted or rejected documents will show below the new documents and can be viewed by your customer at any time.
To view and accept a document, your customer will click on the document they wish to accept. The document will be displayed when they click on it.
If there are no optional Line Item Groups on the document, the client will see the blue I agree to pay button with the proposal total, which they'll click to move on to signing the document.
If there are optional Line Item Groups on the document, the client will see a "Select or reject options" reminder at the bottom right.
They'll need to scroll through the document until they have clicked Accept or Reject for each option.
Clicking Request Changes allows your customer to type in a dollar amount they agree to and leave notes. If your customer Requests Changes, the proposal will be set to "Canceled" so that changes can be made and a new proposal can be sent.
After clicking I agree to pay, any signature blocks present on the document will be highlighted for signing.
On desktop or laptop the default signature will be Type Name. On a mobile device the default will be Sign Name. The client can toggle between signing and typing their name.
If there is more than one signature block, your customer can navigate between them quickly using the blue up/down arrows.
Once all signatures are filled, the green Accept Proposal button will be displayed and your customer can advance to the final confirmation.
Once Accept Proposal is clicked, one final confirmation is displayed to your customer.
After Accepting the Proposal, they'll be returned to the Customer Portal main screen where they'll see a thumbnail of the proposal with the date, signature, and amount they accepted.
After the acceptance or change request, you'll receive an email confirmation of your customers' actions with a link to access the project in Estimate Rocket to review the results.
This is what the Proposal will look like on the project screen:
If you have any questions, please let us know!
Our award-winning customer care team is here for you.Contact Support